Regional District Board

Statement of Purpose: The Comox Valley Regional District is a federation of three electoral areas and three municipalities providing sustainable services for residents and visitors to the area. The members of the regional district work collaboratively on services for the benefit of the diverse urban and rural areas of the Comox Valley.

CVRD Electoral Area Map
CVRD electoral area map [PDF - 1.4 MB] | CVRD electoral area descriptions [PDF]


The Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD) was established on February 15, 2008 as one of two, created as a restructure of the Comox Strathcona Regional District (CSRD). The other one created was the Strathcona Regional District. Regional districts are as unique feature of the British Columbia local government system, and the CVRD, as with all regional districts, is a federation of municipalities and rural areas. Regional districts provide a government for unincorporated (rural) areas, a forum for inter-municipal cooperation and an organization upon which provincial mandates can be imposed such as for regional waste management planning.

Three member municipalities and three electoral areas together form the CVRD whose boundaries an area of just over 1,725 square kilometres (666 square miles) and serves a population of 63,538 according to the 2011 federal census. The region's borders extend from Cook Creek in the south to the Oyster River in the north, west to Strathcona Park, and east to take in Denman and Hornby Islands.